“Advent Wreath” – An Alphabyte

Alphabytes are object meditations
that move through the alphabet two times
in the course of the fifty-two weeks in the year.
“Advent Wreath” introduces the First Sunday in Advent:
winter in the north, summer in the south.

Nick reads the Alphabyte.

We were all running around in circles,
since the fall of Adam and Eve had us spinning out of control.
Waiting, we were, for thousands of sun-cycles,
hoping that the downward spiral might be reversed to an upward one
that leads to a heavenly somewhere.

That heavenly somewhere, thought to be nowhere, is now here.
A new circling spiral begins with Advent and its wreath.
The wreath is a circle seared with four lights,
one for each of the four thousand years
since the Biblically conceived time from Adam’s fall to Jesus’ birth.
They are ages—great spans of time past looked from above, hope
increasing with each week’s light.
CANDLE ONE: Noah—Rainbow-light: the first of new covenants
after the loss of Adam’s.
CANDLE TWO: Abraham—Countless star-flung lights promised in another covenant: God’s own people.
CANDLE THREE: Moses—Fire-light draws this freedom warrior who leads God’s beloved to their own land.
CANDLE FOUR: David—Star-Shepherd and King: head of the house whence Jesus would come.

Feel the flow of the ages. Sense the beginning of a new one for yourself, as spinning wheels taking you nowhere, now engage at this year’s beginning with an inward spiraling flight to heaven.

How does the Word touch you?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s